Breakfast with Jack White

July 27, 2009 at 5:58 am (Uncategorized) ()

Today we had breakfast with Jack White.  Well, not really, but within 10 feet of him, and his new band The Dead Weather.  Except that not being a huge Jack White fan (edited: after listening to The White Stripes and Dead Weather all week, I am now a fan), I wasn’t positive it was him.  And really, this was Perkins in Janesville, Wisconsin…not the biggest place for celebrity sightings.  Especially those involving people from a band that isn’t country.  I had to laugh, though, thinking about how this was a “big” deal to us, when Bethany is in Nashville chilling with all the stars…

The friends we were with had no idea who Jack White is, and neither did any of the servers (who I asked once they left to see if I was just crazy).  Again, not country or top 40 music, not interested apparently.  Susan asked me later if I am sad I didn’t get a chance to ask for an autograph.  Not really my style, not chill enough.  Not that I don’t wish I had caught his eye and gave a nod or something – you know,  nothing too overt or fan-freakish.  Just a “hey, you’re cool, I’m cool, let’s be cool together” nod. 

I better go practice that very specific nod in the mirror right now, in case next week at breakfast I see another rock star and want to be cool…

Leave a comment